Press Releases

Students Receive 2007 All-Maryland Academic Team Award

Release Date: 5/3/2007


CONTACT: Sylvia Blair
Community Relations Coordinator/ Web Editor

Carroll Community College Students Receive 2007 All-Maryland Academic Team Award

On May 2, 2007 Carroll Community College students Mary Jo Piarote and Rachel Lynn Freiert received  the Maryland All-State Academic Team award. The awards program was introduced in 1995 as a way to recognize the scholastic achievement and student leadership among the students in Maryland's community colleges.

Freiert also is the recipient of the Kay Bienen Award. Beinen was the first executive director of the Maryland Association of Community Colleges, who passed away last year. In her memory, this posthumous award is a scholarship in Beinen's  honor. The amount of the award is $1,500.

Piarote is an elementary education major.  Freiert is also an elementary education major. Both students reside in Westminster.

The majority of Maryland All-State Academic Team members are nominees for the Academic All-American Team for Community, Technical and Junior College Students. This international program is sponsored annually by Phi Theta Kappa, USA Today and the American Association of Community Colleges.



Press Release Home | Press Release Archive

Bookmark, Share, or Email this page Get Help