Press Releases

College Celebrates Fine and Performing Arts Through Shows and Exhibits

Release Date: 9/9/2008

For Immediate Release   
Contact: Sylvia Blair
Executive Assistant to the President
Carroll Community College
410-386-8411

Carroll Community College Celebrates Fine and
Performing Arts Through Original Shows and Exhibits

Theatrical and musical performances, and fine arts exhibits
at Carroll Community College will offer a cultural destination for the community to celebrate the arts this fall.

Theater Performances: Fall, 2008

Rabbit Hole
By David Lindsay-Abaire
Directed by Bill Gillett
Winner of the 2007 Pulitzer Prize!
Thursday, Oct. 9, 7:30 p.m.
Friday, Oct. 10, 7:30 p.m.
Saturday, Oct. 11, 7:30 p.m.
Sunday, Oct. 12, 2 p.m.
Admission: $5 Students and Senior Citizens, $8 General Admission
This performance is recommended for mature audiences and not intended for small children .


Children's Theatre Production!
Cinderella! Cinderella!
By Edith Weiss
Directed by Bill Gillett and Chris Murk
Saturday, Oct. 25, 4:30 p.m. & 6:30 p.m.
Sunday, Oct. 26, 2 p.m. & 4 p.m.
(This event is supported by Carroll Student Activities)
Admission: Free


Lord of the Flies
By William Golding
Adapted for the stage by Nigel Williams
Directed by Grady Weatherford
Two Special School Matinees
Thursday, Nov. 20, 9 a.m.
Friday, Nov. 21, 9 a.m.

General Audience Performances
Thursday, Nov. 20, 7:30 p.m.
Friday, Nov. 21, 7:30 p.m.
Saturday, Nov. 22, 2 p.m. & 7:30 p.m.
Sunday, Nov. 23, 2 p.m.
Admission: $5 Students and Senior Citizens, $8 General Admission


Art Exhibits: Fall, 2008
Gallery in the Scott Center
New Millennium: Paintings by Gloria Tarasca                     
Reception: Sunday, Sept. 14 from 2 - 4 p.m.
Show runs Sunday, Sept. 14 through Friday, Oct. 17

Addiction & Recovery: Artistic Insight A Collaboration between Carroll Community College and John's Hopkins School of Medicine
Reception: Sunday, Nov. 2 from 2 - 4 p.m.
Show runs Sunday, Nov. 2 through Friday, Dec. 12
Art and Addiction: Lecture, Short Film and Discussion: Nov. 5 at 7 p.m. in the Theater in the Scott Center
Art and Addiction movie: Basquiat , Nov. 20 at 3 p.m. in L287

The Great Hall
lColumbia Photo Artists
Show runs: Monday, Sept. 8 through Friday, Oct. 17
Four Continents: Mal Druskin, Photography                                           
Show runs: Monday, Oct. 27 through Friday, Dec. 12


Carroll County Regional Artists, Mixed Media
Show runs: Monday, Feb. 9 through Friday, March 20
Bruce Woodward, Paintings
Show runs: Monday, April 13 through Friday, May 22


The Langdon Family Gallery
Emily Fine, Photography
Show runs: Monday, Sept. 15 through Friday, Oct. 17
Art & Addiction (High School Students)
Reception:  Sunday, Nov. 2 (reception in the Scott Gallery)
Show runs: Sunday, Nov. 2 through Friday, Dec. 12

 

Music: Fall, 2008
All music events are performed in the theater in the Scott Center and admission is free.
Chamber Music on the Hill
Sunday, Sept 14 at 3 p.m.

Janice Wall, Voice-Faculty Recital,
Wednesday, Sept. 24 at 12:30 p.m.

Eli Wirth, Tuba- Faculty Recital,
Wednesday, Oct. 15 at 12:30 p.m.

Westminster Symphony Orchestra- Christopher Sies, Marimba
Saturday, Nov. 1 at 7:30 p.m.

Azimuth String Quartet
Sunday, Nov. 2 at 5 p.m.

Lyric Brass Quintet
Thursday, Nov. 6 at 7:30 p.m.

Adam Gonzalez, Cello- Faculty Recital
Wednesday, Dec. 3 at 12:30 p.m.

Carroll Community College Guitar Ensemble and Jazz Choir
Saturday, Dec. 6 at 7:30 p.m.

Encore Orchestra
Thursday, Dec. 11 at 7 p.m.

Carroll Community College Concert Choir
Friday, Dec. 12 at 7:30 p.m.

Carroll Community College Jazz Ensembles
Saturday, Dec. 13 at 7:30 p.m.

Encore Orchestra
Sunday, Dec. 14 at 3 p.m.


 

Press Release Home | Press Release Archive

Bookmark, Share, or Email this page Get Help